Posted by: unlikelygrad | November 1, 2015

not luck

I said in my previous post that I’d been lucky to get the contract job I did. Maybe, maybe not.

After another grueling day of doing job applications this weekend, I went back and looked at my stats for last year:

  • I applied for 39 academic jobs.
  • From those 39 applications, I got 6 phone/Skype interviews.
  • From those 6 interviews, I got requests for follow-up/in-person interviews from 3 schools.
  • I only got one job from those three, but I was told that I was the runner-up for another one.

In other words: I worked pretty damn hard to get the job I had.

Aside from the superficial stats, I did a lot of behind-the-scenes work to make sure that my CV looked good:

  • Guest-lecturing for everyone who would let me
  • Teaching online classes for Gifted Homeschooler’s Forum so that I could add online teaching experience to the CV
  • Doing workshops etc. on teaching strategies

Again, hard work. I started positioning myself for a teaching job YEARS before I went on the market.

So far this year I’ve put in 23 job applications. That puts me about 10 apps ahead of where I was at this time last year. I *will* get a tenure-track job if it’s the last thing I do.

Leave a Reply

Categories

